29 Comments
Sep 10, 2023Liked by Nancy Reddy

I've also been reading a ton lately but have been on a long string of fine but not amazing books. The one standout was Ink Blood, Sister Scribe which I read for book club and ended up liking more than I expected too. I do love a good magic-y book for the start of fall!

Expand full comment
Sep 12, 2023Liked by Nancy Reddy

I also just loved Monsters, and completely agree that it gets better and better and that part of the pleasure is, as you put it, watching her brain work. When books can do that - feel like a record, in actual time, of the author's thinking/feeling and how it evolves and deepens and becomes more complex and layered as she genuinely sits with whatever her subject matter is - wow, it's magical. I also read and loved Kate Briggs' This Little Art, which approximately 300 friends have recommended to me over the years (they were right) and I'm excited about her novel which is coming out in the US this fall, and is about (in part) caretaking a newborn. And Mieko Kanai's Mild Vertigo which I also loved and found so intimate, strange, absorbing, painful at times but also funny and brilliant, and which I keep thinking about even though I finished it months ago now.

Expand full comment

Our Missing Hearts and Everything I Never Told You, both by Celeste Ng, were incredible. Now that I’m thinking back, both have so much to do with motherhood guilt, duty and love.

Expand full comment
Sep 10, 2023Liked by Nancy Reddy

I read "The Whispers" last week, and though it seemed shlocky to me at first, I found it incredibly engrossing, and revised my opinion. What struck me was the assumptions we make about the lives of other people, but can't truly know what's happening behind doors. There were some shocking revelations in the book that astounded me but rang true. Lovely fiction.

Another book about "bad" mothers is "The School for Good Mothers," by Jessamine Chan. I utterly loved that novel, beginning to end.

And here's one about parents and their decisions that I read a couple of years ago. "The Gifted School," by Bruce Holsinger.

Thanks for this thread, Nancy, I love to get suggestions for what to read. :)

Expand full comment
Sep 10, 2023Liked by Nancy Reddy

I read Sea Wife by Amity Gaige for about the fifth time. Great novel about Motherhood and life at sea.

Expand full comment

You probably already read this book, I listened to the audiobook earlier this year: The Baby on the Fire Escape: Creativity, Motherhood, and the Mind-Baby Problem by Julie Philips. Thanks for the book recommendations!

Expand full comment
Sep 10, 2023Liked by Nancy Reddy

On the topic of motherhood, I just read The Nursery by Szilvia Molnar--a haunting and beautiful novel about the indescribable first weeks with a newborn. She does such an amazing job of making concrete/physical what is so hard to describe... I feel like I understand even a sliver more of what my new-parent friends went through after reading it!

Expand full comment

I read the whispers in 24 hours and that ending is still haunting me 🫣

Expand full comment

Thanks so much for the mention, Nancy! Monsters has been on my list for awhile but I'm putting it on hold at the library now.

Expand full comment
Sep 10, 2023Liked by Nancy Reddy

I've been sitting on The Whispers for awhile now, and am moving it up the list. And just this minute ordered Monsters on Audible!

Expand full comment

"My Murder" and I literally bury it under the stack on my nightstand so I don't read it too fast. I'm really loving it so far.

Expand full comment

Push was hard to get through emotionally but also hard to put down! I had to stop reading it before bed. Am I up for another one like that?? Is it really worth it? 😂

Monster sounds fascinating.

Right now I’m listening to How to Stay Married by Harrison Scott Key. Hilarious and sad at the same time. . . Loving it!

Expand full comment