14 Comments
Oct 22, 2023Liked by Nancy Reddy

I keep a quote from Roxanne Gay’s letter for Jami Attenberg’s #1000wordsofsummer a couple years ago (paraphrasing because I’m away from my desk): Your writing may not change the world but it will change you); and a tangible example of that: the medal my grandmother won for winning a writing contest when she was 14. The real prize was a trip to France! I have her letters from the voyage over (it was 1925), full of detailed wonder and excitement. Who knows where our writing may take us?

Expand full comment

Reading usually helps me get inspired to write! Or taking a nap. Everything feels easier post nap!

Expand full comment

Thank you for the shoutout Nancy! Can you teach us how to recover after completing a huge project next?

Expand full comment
Oct 23, 2023Liked by Nancy Reddy

This is making me think I need to deep clean my office.

Expand full comment

Hi Nancy! I surround myself at my writing desk with a beautiful candle my daughter gifted me, which I light when I start writing each day, and I randomly choose one of Louise Hay's Power Thought Cards. I also read a poem, often aloud, by a favorite poet to bring me into the realm of beautiful expression and word play. Thanks for your recommendations of newsletters on the writing process, I will definitely check them out. A recommendation: I love the work of writer/artist/poet Morgan Harper Nichols. Her daily bursts of encouraging words and beautiful colorful drawings in my inbox help keep me going and pep me up by reminding me that I have something unique to offer because there is only one me. https://morganharpernichols.substack.com/

Expand full comment

I read poetry that I love. There’s something about it’s familiarity that is comforting, and the beauty is also usually inspiring.

Expand full comment

If I'm feeling meh about getting back into a writing project, or about starting a new one, I tell myself to do something really small, like, "just revise that 1 scene today," or "just pull a tarot card and free write for 10 minutes." I often want to keep going beyond the single small task once I get into it, but even if I don't, I've still accomplished something that I can hopefully build on tomorrow, or the day after that!

Expand full comment

Interesting prompt. I don't do anything beyond opening the laptop and switching it on (always a good idea). Your post makes me think I should do something more meaningful. But what?

Expand full comment